The use of social media is replacing face-to-face interaction among many people in society. Do you think the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

Nowadays, with the development of technology, an increasing number of people tend to choose to use social media instead of interacting directly. While there are a few drawbacks of this trend, the benefits are more significant.

On the one hand, there are multiple reasons to believe that using social media to replace traditional meetings is unbeneficial. Firstly, using social networking sites too excessively will make people lack communication skill. To illustrate, when addicted to social media, people can lose their interaction because they tend to use stickers or emoji in order to express their mind and emotion. As a result, this will make them feel difficult to show off their feelings in direct meetings. Furthermore, sharing and talking with virtual friends instead of paying attention to their families may make people, especially young people, become distant from family members.

Despite the negatives mentioned above, this trend is a positive development for various reasons. Firstly, social platforms can help people keep in touch with everybody who they love. For example, students who study overseas, can keep in contact with their family and friends by using social media apps such as Messenger, Twitter,... Moreover, social networking sites are also extremely convenient to exchange information. This is because people will have opportunities to get down to business through texting or calling video instead of discussing directly. Last but not least, social media significantly has changed the way information is transmitted. It can help people update new information more convenient and faster.

Although using social platforms instead of direct communication is negative in a few aspects such as lack of communication skills and becoming distant from family, I strongly believe that the benefits of this trend are more serious to consider