The use of social media is replacing the face-to-face interaction among many people in society.

Do you think the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

In recent years, using social networking platforms as a substitute for in-person interactions in the community has been debated in many parts of the world. While it is said that this trend can bring some benefits, I strongly believe that drawbacks far outweigh them.

There is no doubt that there are various advantages associated with employing social media to contact other people, one of which is that they make the connection faster and more convenient. Transferring information and interactions between people; for example, used to be complicated in the past as people whose relatives and friends lived far away had to spend plenty of time waiting for their letters or traveling a long distance in order to communicate with the other. However, thanks to virtual platforms, users are able to immediately connect with others instead of consuming time to write letters or prepare schedules to meet someone face-to-face.

Despite the strong arguments above, I find concrete evidence that online communication through social networking platforms can contain downsides. One of them is that people are more likely to become victims of cybercrimes nowadays. By all accounts, social media interactions seem so extremely ubiquitous in society that they can easily receive a message from a stranger who could be a hi-tech criminal. Obviously, the criminal intends to take advantage of the users’ subjectivity to connect with innocent people and commit crimes before the victim could recognize them.

Another main drawback is an increasing social insensitivity highly concerned on many presses in recent times. It is argued that the more social media people use, the more social insensitivity they are. People tend to immerse in keeping in touch by online platforms rather than meet and start a conversation. If this trend happens more frequently, people can face a crisis of silence. Although it seems like a fiction film, no one could confirm that it would no longer occur in the future.

In conclusion, I completely agree that the demerits of social media communication in terms of creating more situations for criminals and making their users insensitive overshadow the merits such as convenience.