The use of social media is replacing face-to-face interaction among many

people in society. Do you think the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

These days, an increasing number of people tend to rely on social media which leads to a decrease in interacting directly in communities. Although I believe that advances in online interaction have brought numerous advantages to human lives, I think that the drawbacks outweigh the merits.

There are potential reasons why social media has become one of the most essential devices that people use on a regular basis. The first reason is that social networking sites enable their users to connect far and wide which results in expanding their social circles on the Internet. For example, people who have the same interests and hobbies are able to contact, share and comment with each other in a variety of group chats and social clubs on Facebook. The second reason is that families and friends could keep in touch regardless of their geographical distance. Thanks to the availability of many social media such as Messenger or Twitter, people can send and receive messages immediately without waiting long so that they are able to confide despite living in two different countries.

On the other hand, it is undeniable that several serious problems have arisen through social networking sites. First of all, a range of online scams and computer hackers could take advantage of people's trust by making friends with victims and deceiving them thereby stealing personal information such as bank accounts or passwords on several websites. In addition, individuals especially young people are easily addicted to these social media which negatively affects users' health. This is because people can spend hours surfing the websites, resulting in a sedentary lifestyle that can cause serious health issues such as poor eyesight and physical health.

In conclusion, despite positive points such as enlarging social relations and contacting people over a large distance, I believe widespread online scams, hacking information and the decrease in direct social interaction caused by social media are impacting our modern society negatively.