The use of social media is replacing face-to-face interaction among many people in society. Do you think the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

Some individuals believe that real interaction has been superseded by social networking sites. From my perspective, while there are various apparent demerits, I would argue that these are eclipsed by advantages.

On the one hand, there is no question that this tendency has brought with it a variety of negative impacts. Initially, youngsters who are addicted to social media spend too much time keeping their eyes glued to a screen, leading to increasingly sedentary lifestyles. As a result, they are prone to obesity, carrying severe health risks including life-threatening conditions such as cancer and cardiovascular diseases. Furthermore, due to the advances in technology, individuals can access the internet easily. However, millions of internet users have become victims of many dangerous computer hackers and online scams, which renders people to tackle considerable issues and unpleasant experiences related to information infringement.

On the other hand, I still believe that this phenomenon has more tremendous positives. The first beneficial aspect is that this tendency can facilitate social connections. In this day and age, people are scattered around the world for work or studies. Thus, virtual platforms serve as excellent tools for keeping in touch with family and friends. This alleviates a sense of alienation and eases negative moods, which aids to avoid mental health problems such as depression. Another significant advantage is that customers have much more convenience when ordering online. Since cyberspace is an enormous source to look for information, consumers might have enough time and opportunity to read carefully feedback and compare product features of different brands. Consequently, they are not swayed by advertisements and do not buy goods compulsively, hence satisfaction.

In conclusion, it seems to me that despite a few drawbacks, the merits of this situation are much more significant.