The use of social media is replacing face-to-face interaction among many people in society. Do you think the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

Recently, face-to-face communication has been replaced by using social media such as Facebook, Zalo or Instagram. Some people consider that teenagers should use them instead of going out as it will bring us many benefits, whereas another group of people think it is a negative way to destroy the future. As I will explain below, I strongly believe that this will negatively affect our lives.

On the one hand, social networks make it easy for us to keep in touch with our relatives. By using Facebook, Skype, or other social media, students studying abroad can reconnect with their families and friends. The digital generation allows students and workers to work and study without interrupting each other. Due to the Covid-19 pandemic, social media became extremely familiar to everyone because people could not go outside. In addition, it can help prevent us from getting infected with viruses in the future.

The frequent use of social media, however, affects the way people speak and write. Many young people have a habit of using teen code instead of normal words, resulting in a lack of words when writing academic essays or formal writing. Overuse of social media can adversely affect interpersonal skills as well. People are so addicted to their phones that they never even pay attention to the people around them while they are eating dinner with their families.

In conclusion, personally, I believe that when it comes to communication, social media does more harm than good for the reasons I mentioned above.