Very few schoolchildren learn about the value of money and how to look after it, yet this is a critical life skill that should be taught as part of the school curriculum.

Do you agree or disagree?

A practical life skill, which plays an essential role in adulthood but is not taught at public school, is financial responsibility. On one hand, I am inclined to believe that as a child gains monetary knowledge and understands basic concepts of finance, he will make better decisions in terms of spending habits. On the other hand, hardly is such a subject appropriate for the age of adolescence.

To assess the potential advantage of being taught about the value of money, we must bring the skillsets of personal finance into focus. Assuming a child was educated about the valuable money of schooling and how much effort his or her parents had put in to earn that money, he or she would be better and have compassion toward everyone. Not only would that child, therefore, be good at saving up, but he or she could also manage to avoid wasting unnecessary purchases at all costs. In addition, youngsters can develop a good shopping habit and empathize with those who are struggling to cope with their tough life. Another benefit which might be obtained in the long run is an accumulated source of fund that may either be used for investment or donation.

Although so far, one can readily draw the conclusion that providing information regarding finances to school children is critical, we must put their puberty stage into perspective before judging whether it is a necessary school subject or not. Being mentally immature and having no exposure to the economic environment in real life, the pupils appear to be not ready for how money flows in society. For instance, since virtually all of the students have never been employed and paid any money apart from the amount that was given by parents, they will find the lesson,, as well as their home assignments, redundant at that moment. On top of that, because the number of hours that the students sit in the classroom is not infinite, other basic subjects such as mathematics, physics or chemistry both serve to lay the foundation for other advanced knowledge that they will face at university, like finances or economics and appeal strongly to children.

Taking both sides into consideration, they point me to the conclusion that in principle, showing schoolchildren how to manage their money can be useful for everyday life aspects, but in practice, academic institutions had better focus on other elementary subjects.