we are becoming increasingly dependent on computer-based technology. How do you think it will change in the future? is it good for us to reply so much on computers?

In this day and age, there are more and more people counting on advanced technology in life. I contend that the future would witness the upward trend in this situation, which bring about drawbacks rather than benefits to the society.

The dependence of people on computer-based technology would rise for some reasons. Technology facilitates ways of living and communicating with each other. At the touch of a button, people could have a talk with someone on the other side of the world via a video call, which is identical to face-to-face conversation. So, people could attend a meeting, a class or an interview in anywhere having the reception or Wi-fi connection. Moreover, in recent years, many technology company have poured money into the development of technology in order to help people control their life in hand. For example, Google, one of the largest technology company in the world, introducing “smart home”, which is an application on smart phone allow users to turn on or off all the devices in their house such as lights, washing machine, air-conditioner and so on. Thanks to advanced technology, people make their own living more convenient.

In my opinion, being more reliant on technology is a negative development of human society. Firstly, If people overuse technology on a daily basis, it does bad to their physical and mental health. For example, starring at the screen of computer or smart phone, people’s eyesight and mind would take a turn for the worse. Moreover, because technology could be of some help in many ways, people tend to be sluggish in movements. That lead to a sedentary lifestyle, which is a salient factor for obesity. Secondly, there is an increase in the unemployment rate. This could be because computers could take people’s position in service industries. For example, in a developing country such as Viet Nam, at the airport, customers can make a purchase on tickets and check-in by themselves on the big touch screen without any instructor and ticket seller.

In conclusion, there are many reasons showing that computer-based technology is becoming more important in life. But this is clearly more of a negative than a negative development.