We can get knowledge from news, but some people think we cannot trust the journalist. What do you think? What qualities do you think a successful journalist should have?

News which are often brought about by journalists are considered as one source of knowledge. However, whether we should take our belief on journalists or not has caused a heated debate. From my perspectives, those with distinct qualities are trust-worthy.

There are good grounds for arguing that news is advantageous to widen our horizons. It is undeniable that journalists had achieved specific training, including both theories and practices, prior to carrying out their job, thus the news they convey are often precise and reliable. For example, documentaries of the trade war between the two most powerful countries, America and China, are broadcasted with full analyses by reporters can provide viewers with knowledge of international commerce, tax and law. Additionally, despite some exaggerated and false information available on different genres of media, the large number of journalist’s work enables us to be well-informed of what is currently happening in every corner of the world. In earlier times, the process of sending and receiving news took many hours or even days, which was possibly due to the lack in newspaper workforce.

To be an admirable journalist, there are numerous virtues worth mentioning. Firstly, it is obvious that journalism entails honesty to transmit information with a high level of trustfulness. In fact, many reporters try to make a profit by inventing unreal stories to achieve a higher number of views, which may trigger misunderstand, adversely influencing the society. Another prerequisite of being a qualified journalist would be showing respect to individual’s privacy. Take paparazzi in Hollywood as an excellent example, who never hesitantly interfere in the lives of celebrities to take photos of them. There are lots of famous cases in which famous people got into trouble with paparazzi, leading to violence and legal pursuits.

In conclusion, it is my belief that obtaining knowledge from news is a good idea provided that every journalist is qualified.