We have become a disposable society preferring to buy new products rather than repair existing items Why do you think this is How can this trend be reversed

It is ubiquitously seen that nowadays everyone is throwing away the used products if they are damaged or broken, in spite of getting it repaired. It is happening because of the modern lifestyle and higher income to buy things again and again. This tendency could be altered if the government take action upon their citizens by imposing extra taxes on every purchase so that the acquirer could stop buying the things, and instead get the items repaired.

In my perspective, there are many reasons for this trend. Firstly, due to technological advancements, people everywhere around the globe are living a modernized lifestyle, which does not require things to be recycled or repaired for further usage. Recent survey reports in the UK have shown that almost half of the population feel ashamed to go to the repair center, alternatively, they opt to buy a new model that arise in the market. Secondly, because every individual is working these days, they are financially sounded and independent which is making them lazier to get things repaired. To elucidate, these days, the youth are lazy, and moreover fascinated to show their high-class status by purchasing expensive products, even though they already have such an item which is in repair condition.

This tendency could be changed if the government of a nation imposes strict rules on its citizens. To begin with, they should urge huge taxes on every recycled product so that people may not show interest to buy them once again if broken. To illustrate, the government of Telangana has forced people to pay an 18% additional tax on the goods which could be recycled or repaired for which the sales of electronic goods have reduced to 40% according to the latest news.

To recapitulate, although products can be replaced by new ones because of people having enough money, this tendency could make them lazier than ever before which could be dangerous in the coming ages. However, this trend could be altered if the higher authorities impose high tariffs on every kind of product, either it might be technological devices, clothes, motor vehicles or accessories so that people tend not to buy.