As well as making money, businesses also have social responsibilities. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

There are different views about whether businesses should focus more on making a profit or social responsibilities. I completely agree with the idea that companies should do more for society than simply make money.

For a variety of reasons, it would be necessary to give more social obligations to businesses. Firstly, companies’ activities have considerable negative impacts on society, such as environmental pollution, exploited labor, v.v. Secondly, most companies concentrate more on earning money than being responsible for social issues. For example, today, many business owners are forcing workers to work longer hours for increasing output without caring about their well-being. Finally, social obligations are parts of the commitment to business ethics. Therefore, they should do something for society besides money.

In addition, from my knowledge, at no time have all economies in the world sought sustainable development. In economic theory, a sustainable development economy consists of growth both in quantity and quality. Making profit is about meeting the demanding quantity while solving social problems is about achieving quality development. For example, in the past, many American businesses focused more on exploiting natural resources. However, nowadays, American are putting more effort into natural regeneration, enhancing the ecosystem, and protecting the environment. Or another clear example is that today more and more businesses are doing sustainable business. While meeting customer needs and generating profit, companies also use environmentally friendly processes and pay more attention to working conditions.

In conclusion, I agree that companies should place as much importance on their social responsibilities as they do on their financial objectives.