As well as making money, businesses also have social responsibilities. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Beside making profit, businesses should also be responsible for society. I totally agree with the idea that companies should have more social obligations than simply make money.

On the one hand, I have the same idea that businesses must make profit in order to survive in a competitive world. It is obvious that the priorities of any company are revenue and profit that they make. By achieving more of that, they can cover their running costs, such as employees’ wages and payments for buildings and utilities. In addition, on top of these costs, businesses also need money for re-investment, research and development and innovations if they wish to remain successful. If a company could not meet the changing demands of customers and re-investment, there is nothing that it would not do for society. In other words, only after earning profit can the company contribute to society.

On the other hand, businesses should not be run with the sole aim of maximizing profit. Firstly, there is a social obligation that owners and managers need to concern about is to treat their employees well, rather than exploiting them. For example, they could pay a “living wage” to ensure that workers have a good quality of life. Secondly, I also like the idea that businesses could use a proportion of their profits to support local charities, environmental projects or education initiatives. Finally, instead of trying to minimise their tax payments by using accounting loopholes, I believe that company bosses should be happy to contribute to society through the tax system.

In conclusion, I believe that companies should place as much importance on their social responsibilities as they do on their financial objectives.