What are the advantage and disadvantage of leaving your country to live or study aboard?

Nowadays, taking a year out to live or study aboard is becoming increasingly popular. For many people especially young adults, the chance to spend an extended period of time overseas is an attractive one. However, there are both pros and cons to deciding to do this. In this essay, I will discuss some of the reason why moving aboard is so popular and some of the challenges to be overcome.

Let's begin by looking at the advantages of moving away. One of the main positives of heading overseas is that it broadens your horizons. What I mean by this is that you have the chance to meet people from different cultural background and learn to cope with foreign customs and food. This can make you more rounded as a person.

Secondly, moving aboard can lead to a better quality of life. Take British people for example. Thousands of people from the UK move to Spain an Australia every year. These countries have warmer climates and encourage a better work-life. In addition, by living overseas, you can gain qualification and language skills, which may improve promotion prospects on your return.

Turning to the other side of the argument, culture shock is a major problem, Many people who take a year out find hard to cope with the language barrier, the food and general cultural difference. This often leads to homesickness and in some cases a sense of isolation.

Another issue is that it can be difficult to start a new life from scratch. In other words, when you move aboard, you have to make new friends and find your place in the community. This process takes time and can be especially challenging if there is also a language barrier to deal with.

Al things considered, starting life in a foreign country is never easy. You need to weigh up the pros of the better lifestyle, weather and so on , and the cons of culture shock and language barrier. Personally, I believe the benefits in terms of personal growth eventually outweigh any negatives.