What are the causes of crime and what could be done to prevent this rise in
criminal activity?Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant
examples from your own knowledge or experience.
Over the past few years, the crime rates in our country has skyrocketed due to various
reasons. This essay will address the causes of illegal acts and provide preventative
actions to lessen the criminal activity.
Firstly, the foremost reason for the rising crime rates are illiteracy. Education is a
system that builds a base for human behaviour. It teaches them to value other human
kinds. Many families in rural areas are unable to educate their children due to lack of
awareness regarding the importance of education. They are ignorant of the fact that
sending toddlers for daily wage-based jobs does not help them to grow in an
environment where they get an opportunity to mingle with literate people. Instead, they
are exposed to a culture where chaos and quarrels play a major role and end up
becoming an assassin or a trouble maker in the society. For example, terrorists and
politicians.
Secondly, another cause for huge number of harmful acts is unemployment.
Unemployment is a position when folks are educated but unable to get a job. Rising
cost of living and poverty sometimes leads in making crime. Majority crimes are
performed by underemployed and unemployed people. For instance, the previous year
statistical report reveals that nearly 27% of the crimes committed in our country are by
inhabitants within the age group of 23 – 35 years.
However, there are numerous ways in which crime rates can be curtailed. Government
must create job opportunities for the youngsters who are educated. In addition to the
above, the ruling authorities should set a minimum salary or wage rate for each
occupation which will demolish unemployment as well as poverty. Increase in job
opportunities with good pay will also narrow down the percentage of brain drain in the
country.
Furthermore, humanity plays a vital role in minimizing crime rates. People must respect
each other and show kindness, irrespective of their occupation and wealthy position.
Plethora of crimes rises due to people’s judgemental and provoking attitude. Hence, this
can lessen by helping folks who lack basic needs.
To conclude, I pen down saying that good governance can cut down the crime rates.
Perhaps it is humanity that actually saves people from doing crimes.