When choosing a job, the salary is the most important consideration. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In these days, with highly competitive job markets some job seekers select their career based on salary level. While this may suit many people, there are more important factors needed to take into consideration.

On the one hand, the benefits of choosing a financially- rewarding job are twofold. First, a wage plays an integral part in guaranteeing an acceptable standard of living. When employees are offered a high salary, they are entitled to meet their basic needs such as buying a comfortable house or going on luxury holidays. Second, one of the best motivations behind work is a competitive salary. For instance, the head of a company may offer a regular pay rise to his employees who are able to achieve sales targets during the year. This acts as an incentive for sales staff to maximize their work productivity and enhances the level of job performance.

On the other hand, apart from salary, job seekers have different motives to choose a job. One of the reasons is that job satisfaction plays an important role in choosing a career. In fact, an employee tends to apply for a job as long as he can make use of his strengths and talents in his job and he can get opportunities to move up the career ladder. Moreover, the work that an employee does must have meanings. In particular, the employee must be able to feel that he is contributing to society positively or to a higher cause.

in conclusion, it is true that the salary is not only the factor when we pursue a career. There are others we should take them into account.