When choosing a job, salary is the most important decision. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Wage plays a significant role during the career seeking process. While I accept that this perception is somewhat justifiable, I believe that there are plenty of factors other than salary which should be put into consideration when looking for jobs.

On the one hand, an occupation with a well paycheck helps people cover the basic living expenses in their daily lives. Individuals can afford plenty of costs such as accommodation, food and bills without the pressure of saving the money. Besides, a high-paid job creates the motivation for individuals to work harder for a competitive salary. For example, an employee who has the highest achievement among others at the end of the year in a company can earn some bonus money like a reward.

On the other hand, there are a host of compelling reasons as to why I am convinced that salary is not only the component which individuals should focus on while seeking a job. One reason is that job satisfaction is one of the factors that decides if the job is suitable for a person or not. For instance, an enthusiastic employee would prefer a job which requires creativity and high-dynamic rather than sitting behind the front desk with the computer. Additionally, the working environment also contributes a significant impact in this process. Having good social relationships with colleagues in the workplace will motivate people to go to the office every day and will bring a positive effect to their mentality.

In conclusion, while it is irrefutable that money dominates a huge part in choosing a career ladder, I would contend that there are some other aspects which should be taken into account before making a job decision.