In some countries, most people prefer to rent their homes rather than buying them. What are the advantages and disadvantages of this?

In several nations, the majority of individuals tend to temporarily stay in their homes rather than purchasing it. In my viewpoint, some significant upsides can be derived from this notion along with the downsides which I will explicate in the ensuing paragraph.

Looking from the beneficial sides, if societies decided to rent a house to live in, it would cost less for building maintenance in years ahead. This happens since plenteous annual fees are one of the landowner’s responsibilities, such as repainting or repairing the utility installation, which will hinder people in productive ages or young couples to afford the huge amount of household expenses. Singaporeans, for instance, spend around tens of thousands of dollars a year for renting a residence. Moreover, how “lifestyle renting” affects citizens to lease accommodation nearby the office. The most reasonable factor for this is to save time required for going to work instead of paying for a house far-distance from the working area. Recently, more and more Millenials above-average incomes in recent times opt to rent for buildings with amenities used for working and business activities.

By contrast, there are downsides of this issue that we must find out, firstly, we can see rental costs which will go up depending on the property owner. This is determined by volatile circumstances and the standard of living is continually rising each year. We can take an example when the property owner steps the fee up higher than before because of the increasing population nearby. In addition, tenants would be limited to construct the new building designs, particularly adding rooms. Seemingly, the place legally belongs to the landlord and both parties have to reach a deal for such a matter. This is somewhat restrictive and it will reduce renter comfort for years.

Overall, the issue of individuals opting to rent a residence appears to bring the benefits that the renter would get free maintenance and would reach time efficiency for workers. Meanwhile, the drawbacks that we could see are the significant increase in annual fees per year and limited freedom to redesign its look.