the world's population has been increasing significantly and people are running out of water, food and fuel. What consequences may overpopulation lead to? What measures can be taken to fight overpopulation?

In this day and age, the population of the world is proven to have a considerable soar which leads to the shortages of water, food and fuel. The following essay will examine the results of overpopulation and propose solutions to alleviate the problem.

There are a lot of demand-supply problems which are accompanied by a burgeoning population. First of all, this could result in an increased demand for food, water and fuel. In particular, since these essentials cannot be produced continuously and if people keep require it on a daily basis to serve for many purposes at the same time, there will be no sufficient resources or equipment to generate them. As a result, people in some corners of the world might suffer from extreme hunger as well as water stress which increase the mortality rate. Secondly, the ecological degradation might be one of the consequences of the population explosion. To illustrate, the destruction of natural habitats for building purposes such as forests, has become a common phenomenon in populous nations. Consequently, it is possible that many wild species will be on the verge of extinction, especially endangered species.

In order to ease the burden on the rapid population growth, one of the solutions might be promote family planning. This is because people need to be fully aware of the severe influences of overpopulation and this can be done by local authorities through social campaigns. For instance, one-child policy, which aims to limit families to have one child each, should be introduced in those campaigns to help bring down the fertility rate. Additionally, a more practical and effective response towards this concern would be giving sex education to students at the young stage of their life. To make this works, educational institutions need to collaborate with their parents in providing children and teenagers with know-how to have a good lifestyle and be healthy. As a consequence, unplanned pregnancies are more likely to be prevented and therefore, reduce the birth rate.

In conlusion, it is clear that the consequences caused by overpopulation are very serious. Yet if governments are together with schools and parents to make effort, the abovementioned solutions are more likely to be feasible.