The world should have only one government rather than a national government for each country.

Do the advantages out outweigh the disadvantages?

The concept of cosmocracy has been proposed for some time now, with the ideal thought that there should be only one government in the world rather than separate national governments. This idea, albeit with certain advantages, would potentially create insoluble problems.

The possibility of conflicts between regions, to some proponents, would be solved at ease by the global mono-government. The US federal government can serve as an instance; it has been addressing problems among the states since its establishment. However, this government can work effectively due to the fact that it only functions in a small range of over 50 states, and most citizens have faith in the united constitution and values such as capitalism and individualism. On the contrary, the unitary government seems to be imaginary because it would hold thousands of states with diametrically differing ideologies. This fantasy-like authority would actually not necessitate compromises but even worsen conflicts. So the cosmocratic system sounds very impractical to the core.

Some theorists, however, postulated a more advanced idea that global issues could be tackled more effortlessly by a single universal government. To be more specific, taxes could be equally collected and wealth redistributed to economically disadvantaged zones; starvation, income inequity and poverty would be resolved. This might capture the interest of many listeners for the first time, but in fact, there lies a potential insecurity in it. Tax payers in richer areas, despite paying more, would receive very little money in return, which would eventually trigger resentment, unrelenting demonstrations and social unrest.

Perhaps the idea of no boundaries with immigration appears to be the most convincing argument. The united government would necessitate swarms of people traveling from countries to countries without any strict verification procedures. Migrants, as a result, would come to thriving cities in hope of better jobs, thus making those places economic concentrated areas. But in the long run, the problem would arise unequivocally in this scenario. Stiffer competition for jobs, traffic and housing would soon be present, and worst of all, those cities would be a breeding ground for crime of any kinds.

In summary, the benefits of a universal centralized government may sound potent initially, but they are totally dominated by its drawbacks.