The world should have only one government rather than a national government for each country. Do the advantages outweigh this advantage?

With globalization accelerating at a rapid pace, there have been growing calls to have only one global government, which would motivate countries to unify towards resources and international policies. To the best of my knowledge, the drawbacks of this growing trend outstrip the benefits.

Firstly, it is note-worthy that there are many member nations abusing their power to serve their own interests rather than those of the entire world. Nowadays, many studies have shown that although it is invisible, the growing trend of global collaboration is accompanied by the increasing intertwined conflict among countries all over the world. Furthermore, it will be a grave mistake to overlook the fact that establishing a global government has resulted in reducing cultural diversities and identities. As a result, this phenomenon can affect international relations about economics and politics.

Secondly, the counter-argument raised by opponents to this is that this policy could encourage member countries to collectively contribute to solve common problems. According to researches, a global government would be able to act faster in solving issues effectively because they would have more resources at their disposal. For instance, a single government could better protect residents by enacting strict laws that force all citizens to get vaccinated against Covid-19. This argument could be true to some extent; however, it is incomplete. What they fail to take into account is the fact that due to different traditional and cultural perspectives, it could lead to inconsistent measures in tackling issues of each country. Furthermore, it can take a long time and high budget to build a unified global system in all fields.

In conclusion, a single government for the entire planet could help resolve global issues but would limit the distinctiveness of each individual nation as mentioned above.