Write about the following topic:

In many countries today there are many highly qualified graduates without employment.

What factors may have caused this situation and what, in your opinion, can/should be done about it?

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Write at least 250 words.

It is true that the unemployment rate has to skyrocket in several nations. These days many highly qualified, skilled people are struggling to get a decent job in many countries. However, they are the cornerstone of our development of society. There are colossal factors are responsible for this situation such as economic recessions and a huge population of graduates

To begin with, economic downturns is the leading reason. Obviously, as the economic condition in the globe, many employers are starting to fire their employees or stop hiring new people. The companies often seek for employees with less salary and that creates problems for highly skilled and educated students who prefer to remain unemployed rather than being poorly paid. For example, some organizations would lay off the employees in the marketing department. It can help to company tightly control costs and some departments are useless in an economic crisis. Consequently, some professional graduates receive no job offer.

The best solution for this problem is stimulating economic growth of the entire world. When the economic recovery, organizations need more specialist in different areas helping them to operate and expand the companies. As a result, highly qualified graduates would not have unemployment problems.

Next, numerous highly qualified graduates’ step into society every year is the coming reason. Comparing to the past, students are easier to receive tertiary education in the whole world these days. It leads to the excess supply of university students in the job market. For instance, there are over 10 thousand fresh graduates who have a degree certificate or above in Hong Kong. Frankly speaking, the number of university graduates have a significant increase since the begin of 21 centuries. On the other hand, organizations are more willing to employ some unskilled employees with a relatively low salary. There are not enough job positions for these graduates.

The only solution is graduates accepting some low-paid jobs and gaining some experiences first. Not only expanding job scope but also increase employer’s confidence. Practice makes perfect. Then, employers are more likely to spend money on hiring an experienced employee rather than a graduate with zero work experience.

In conclusion, the financial crisis and the excessive number of graduates is the main problem of unemployment.

Hope my suggestions could address this issue.