Writing Task 2: Some people think that hosting an international sports event is good for the country, while some people think it is bad. Discuss both views and state your opinion

It is believed by some that the country is able to benefit from hosting major international sports events. From my perspective, I think that such events could bring detrimental effects on the host nation in many aspects.

On the one hand, there are plenty of reasons why some people support the idea that hosting international sports events could be advantageous for the country. One of the primary causes is that local economy could be reinforced/ fostered. It is much more likely that hospitality and tourism industries and businesses involved sports merchandising are able to benefit from the influx of sports fans from all over the world. More people can find work in hotels or restaurants. In addition, such international events are an opportunity to make money for local residents when they can also sell souvenirs and local products such as traditional food and clothes to visitors. Therefore, this can help generate more income for local inhabitants and enhance their living standards. Moreover, international sports events are able to aid the youth of the host country in improving their health. Extensive sports coverage on TV fires the imagination of adolescents and thus, all keen to take up sport and emulate their national heroes. Thereby, competitive spirit is fostered and health is promoted.

On the other hand, I hold a belief that the situation could have adverse impacts to some extent. First of all, if the government of the host nation provides funding for these events, then it must curb public spending on hospitals, schools and welfare state. For instance, the Brazilian government spent money on building stadiums for the 2014 World Cup and now it lacks money to deal with the coronavirus pandemic. Furthermore, international sports events can disturb the life of local people. When there are a great deal of travellers, this could lead to dramatically irritate local inhabitants as risk of the crime rate can rise as well as residents is usually able to endure to get stuck in traffic. Therefore, such events could result in many problems for local people.

In conclusion, although it is true to some that hosting international sports events could be great beneficial for the country, I personally think that these events are able to bring detrimental effects on the host nation in a wide range of aspects.