WRITING TASK 2 You should spend about 40 minutes on this task Write about the following topic The Internet has dramatically altered our lives over the past few decades Although some of these changes have been negative the overall effect of this technology

The Internet has brought significant changes to our daily lives in recent times. Yet, there remain some debates as to whether the overall effect of this development has been negative or positive. Whereas there are certainly valid arguments to the contrary, I do have a strong belief that the benefits of the Internet far outweigh its drawbacks.

First and foremost, it is an indisputable fact that the Internet has revolutionized the way we communicate. Despite a high risk of social isolation – an issue seen in those who are always glued to their smartphones or TV screens instead of integrating with friends, the Internet has really facilitated our contact with people in faraway places. A case-in-point is that students who live abroad will not have many opportunities to meet their relatives face-to-face; nevertheless, due to the Internet, they can still keep in touch with their loved ones in spite of geographical barriers.

Equally importantly, the Internet has actually placed the world at our fingertips. In earlier times, people will have to spend long hours looking for essential materials if they want to conduct research. Yet, in today’s society, the same information can be accessed just at the click of a button. Admittedly, not all information on the Internet is really useful and reliable – there may be some information considered offensive and dangerous such as pornography, but I contend that this free flow of information has made our daily activities much more convenient overall.

By way of conclusion, I reaffirm my position that the Internet has had beneficial impacts on our modern life because of its influence on communication and flow of information.