You should spend 40 minutes on this task.

Write about the following topic:

Governments should spend their money on railways rather than roads.

To what extent you agree or disagree with this statement?

Give reasons for your answer and include relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Write at least 250 words.

Train has been a more convenient mode of transport throughout the recent years, and has been favoured by the majority of the people. This essay strongly agrees that the government should put forward their earnings towards the renovation and the construction of the railway systems rather than on roads. This essay will depict the reasons for favouring this opinion.

To begin with, trains have gone through the process of evolution from the old coal-powered trains to electric-powered trains which ,nowadays, use the electricity as the greener form of energy. In other words, they do not contribute towards the production of greenhouse gases in air that in turn result in global warming as well as air pollution. As a result, this will reduce the amount of carbon dioxide emissions annually all over the world that can be expressed in a short sentence ''reducing carbon footprint''.

Moreover, trains are more convenient and suitable for the ordinary citizens when commuting to work particularly when jobs are in far away workplaces. To explain, the railways are constructed underground in the subway stations far away from the traffic congestion on roads. Likewise, they have the shortest routes when linking different towns. Consequently, this will dramatically reduce the time taken when searching and waiting for the local taxis or buses at the sametime saving time for the benefit of the citizens as well as reducing road rages.

All in all, I believe that a good decision like this should be taken into consideration by the authorities to solve the issue of the traffic congestion in our country.