You should spend about 40 minutes on this task.

Individuals can do nothing to improve the environment; only governments and large companies can make a difference.

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

You should write at least 250 words.

Controversy exists around who key actors with the ability to positively change the environment are, with the options being individuals, governments and big corporations. Personally, I believe that while laypeople have the power to make a difference, governmental institutions and companies are also capable and responsible for making our planet healthier.

On the one hand, over the past years, numerous grass-roots initiatives have taken off everywhere, launched by passionate people with the drive to maintain the well-being of the environment in their community. One exemplary instance is the transformative effort of a local advocacy group in Hanoi, which successfully shut down the city authorities' attempt to cut down thousands of trees a few years back, after having collected a large number of petitions from other Hanoians. Because of their success, the city retained its self-sustained hypothetical lung, and the government had a wake-up call about the necessary action to preserve the environment. This is only one of the many examples of people who are consistently making progress in the fight to protect the environment.

On the other hand, drastic and comprehensive improvements are only possible with the involvement of the authorities, given the dire state of nature in many areas of the world right now. Currently, trees in the Amazon are being cut down at an unprecedented rate for agricultural purposes. This trend has only exacerbated in recent years. Additionally, in various country, Vietnam included, forests are being destroyed by real estate companies so they can be turned into golf courses. Therefore, in order to alter the situation, there is a need for policy changes, as well as stricter surveillance and stronger effort for conservation from the government. Though it is said that the government's plans are usually slow in execution, they are still the key to sustainable transformation. Furthermore, big corporations with economic resources have a big influence over politicians' decisions, and in turn, their policies. With the determination of these companies to contribute to the environment, nature conservation efforts can be accelerated by a great deal.

In conclusion, I strongly believe that not only do our politicians, governmental institutions and private corporations can improve our environment, normal people also possess the ability to do so. Ultimately, as a society, we need all the effort we can get, in order to make our planet a better place to inhabit.