You should spend about 40 minutes on this task.

Write about the following topic:

Should animals be used in testing new drugs and procedures?

Gives reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Write at least 250 words.

Animals from fly to mouse and monkey, are widely used in testing and developing new drugs. They are very important and crucial for allowing scientists to learn about human organisms and how the body reacts with drugs. Should scientists use animals in the lab rather than on humans directly? According to this, this essay will show some reasons and explanations for using lab animals.

Animal testing contributes to life saving cures and treatment. To illustrate, the Californian biomedical research association states that in the last 100 years every medical breakthrough has resulted in research using animals. So they play a vital role in medical research. It helps in treating some major conditions such as brain injury, breast cancer, childhood leukemia and more. Moreover, involving animals in manufacturing and testing new medicines has improved scientist’s understanding of human biology and health.

If we didn’t use animals, we would have to test new drugs on people. Animal testing ensures that vaccines are safe. For example, scientists during coronavirus were racing to develop a vaccine to set up an end for this pandemic. In addition, they used genetically modified mice to ensure that the vaccine doesn’t make the virus worse. Also, a professor from Flinders University in Australia said “testing a coronavirus vaccine on animals is absolutely essential and skipping that step would be fraught with difficulty and danger”.

Animals themselves benefit from the results of testing. To clarify, vaccines tested on animals have saved millions of them that would otherwise have died from a lot of diseases, for example, rabies,distemper and tetanus. Moreover, using animals in drugs saves some kinds of animals from being extinct. A lot of associations and organizations endorse using animals in testing not only in human treatment but also in developing medicines for animals themselves.

To conclude, animals are here for humans to use. They helped humanity to know the human body and understand its biology and health. Also, it ensures the effectiveness and safety of any new treatment and vaccines. In addition, testing on animals improves and helps them from many viruses and from being extinct.