Young people are now spending more and more time and money following fashion trends. What is your opinion? Is this a positive or negative development?

Fashion overspending has captured significant public attention due to its implication on youngsters in recent years. Although the downsides could be pronounced, I subscribe to the opinion that this pattern is a positive development.

Opponents of spending an excessive amount of time and money on fashion cite several reasons for their worries. First, this tendency could lay a foundation for a throw-away society where young generations only wear certain garments for a short time. As a consequence, this kind of consumer behavior would encourage overproduction and overconsumption, spelling disaster for the environment on huge amounts of waste. Second, due to the fact that the latest styles of clothes are associated with expensive price tags by the time they are first released, it exerts negative impacts on financial stability. Because when they squander their money to keep up with the latest trend, they might encounter short-term financial problems, such as monthly bills and debts.

However, I would agree that embracing the pursuit of fashion trends could exert an array of benefits when it comes to occupations. Initially, if young job seekers want to apply for a fashion-related job such as a model or fashion designer, keeping up with the latest fashion trend could be a competitive edge over others. An explanation is that if young candidates wear the up-to-the-minute style of fashion, they are able to show their aesthetic taste, thus leaving an impression on employers. Moreover, this trend could pave a way for more occupational opportunities such as becoming trend influencers. For instance, Chau Bui who is an influencer of fashion in VN is famous for mixing and matching to become dressed to kill. As a result, she has received lucrative contracts of clothing advertisement from manifold businesses.

In conclusion, I believe that excessive investment in fashion for fashionable trends of clothes could have both advantages and disadvantages. Nevertheless, I show my preference for the upsides because of its desirable impacts.