Young people who commit serious crimes, such as robbery or violent attacks should be punished in the same way as adults. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In the recent years, young offenders committing serious crime are starting to increase significantly due to the current pandemic and the unstable world situation. Hence, a minority of individuals believe that these youngsters should be punished as the same way as adult. From my perspective, I highly agree with the notion above, the further essay will discuss and give reasons to my opinion.

On the one hand, young offenders already have several basic knowledge about laws and the activities. For instance, adolescents with sufficient opportunities to receive minimal education already have a basic knowledge about whether their actions are harmful are not. Young offenders swindle and take part in violence activities are the result of a lack of education from parents and school. Thus they should be heavily punished, sent in prison and camp to re-educate them and teach them to control their actions and re-built their thought. Moreover, although teenagers think that their behavior and actions have a negligible impact on the society but in reality they could destroy life of individual or maybe several people.

On the other hand, if laws and the current contemporary society donot punish these teenagers, they will influence the psychology and attitudes of other youngsters. In particularly, if the society do not punish young offenders who commit several violence, the others will have a though that their negative actions won’t be condemn. Moreover, young people who have stayed in prison or re-education camp could have a plethora of breakthrough in understanding about violences and crimes issues that the country is facing. In general, according to the Vietnam government news, over 80% of the teenagers who had stayed in prison and other re-education camp have changed their life and have a more positive perspective about the surrounding life.

In conclusion, young offenders should be well punished the same way as the elder. Otherwise, whey could impact on the mind of a whole generation and could influence the education system of the country which they are living.