Young people who commit serious crimes, such as robbery or violent attacks should be punished in the same way as adults. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Committing a crime is a serious act that should be met with appropriate punishment for those who are responsible. Nowadays, with the increase in the number of juvenile criminals, there are some who believe that young people should be punished in the same way as adults. Despite the fact that young people make mistakes, I believe that the punishments they receive should be less severe than those meted out to more mature individuals.

It is incorrect to say that the youth are virtually innocent because they are elated, immature, and unaware of the consequences of their actions when they use that reason to justify killing and swindling. It is impossible to forgive them for their careless actions. However, there are young criminals who appear to take advantage of the fact that they are not of legal age to be punished by the law and then commit crimes. They believe that by doing so, they will be able to avoid being sentenced or even get away with sentences.

Nonetheless, each individual's age should be taken into consideration when making a decision. If the government imposes the harshest punishment possible, such as life imprisonment or the death penalty, the situation is dire. It has the potential to devastate the youth and those who have committed the crime because they will not have the opportunity to undo what they have done. It is possible that the country will suffer as a result of this action. We should do something else to alter the rate of crime, such as better education or raising people's awareness, in order to reduce the rate of crime. Educating them on how to distinguish between what is bad and what is good will enable them to have a better future. More than that, if they have committed a crime, we can give them a second chance, during which time they can be renovating and changing into a better person. This is preferable to harsh punishments that can destroy their lives.

With that being said, I believe that they should be punished, but not in the same way that adults are punished today.