5. It has been suggested that all young adults should be required to undertake unpaid work helping people in the community. Would the drawbacks of such a requirement be greater than the benefits to the community and the individual young adults?

In contemporary society, a mandate to perform unpaid community service is a heated debate nowadays. while this approach has enormous benefits, it has some adverse affects as well on an individual as well as on the society. The essay shall discuss both perspectives in detail to evaluate the potential impact.

Predominantly, the intent for implementing free-of-charge society service is to inculcate empathy in young people towards the community. This certainly has a lot of merits such as attachment to community people, understanding of issues and exploring resolutions. Similarly, by actively participating in such activities, individuals can develop crucial life skills such as team leadership, communication skills and teamwork.

On the contrary, there are some disadvantages if the proposal is implemented as mandatory. The young generation is already over-occupied with their academic and career-related challenges. They would perceive this activity as an additional burden and would carry it out unwillingly. Resultantly, the desired outcome will not be achieved. Rather there would be resentment and counterproductive behavior.

Furthermore, implementing this idea as an essential requirement is a violation of one's fundamental freedom of opting for an activity. Owing enforcement by the authorities, would lead to negative performance and irritable behaviors by the individuals.

In conclusion, the importance of participating in society services cannot be overlooked. However, imposing forcefully shall have more adverse effects than positives. A striking balanced approach of implementing it voluntarily is rational. Individuals will willingly opt for the activity and dedicatedly participate without hurting their liberty or routine schedule.