7. Countries with long average working hours are economically more successful than those countries which do not work long hours. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is widely believed that Nations with longer work hours are more prosperous economically than countries that work for shorter hours. This essay agrees with this view as will be ventilated in this essay.

To begin with, Employees tend to be more productive due to the huge amount of time dedicated to their work. This could be explained as staff completing work which requires a lot of time in a timely manner. For instance, in a some countries, the standard working hours for most companies is 7 hours, but if it is increased to 10 hours or more, targets might be achieved earlier than it is expected. In addition, more work experience can be gained in time, with the young experienced workforce serving as great assets to the country as whole.

Although, working for hours less than the standard working time might help workers achieve a work-life balance and in essence spend more time with their loved ones, it does not benefit the society economically. This is because spending less time at work might lead to reduced output on the part of the employee. This means sufficient time is not invested in their work. Also, few working hours might cause the efficiency of staff to dwindle. In this case, employees with target-based jobs might note meet their targets due to the shortfall in their working hours which could lead to redundancy in future.

In conclusion, while I agree that working for long hours makes staff more efficient and makes available skilled workforce for the country, working for short hours might reduce the productivity and output of the staff.