Many people believe that countries should produce food for the whole population and import as little food as possible. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Majority of individuals are of the opinion that nations should produce food for its citizen, and reduce food importaion to the barest minimum. The positive and negative impact of this will be discussed in this essay.

To begin with, countries producing their own food have a range of the benefits for the wider economy, from boosting the economy financially, to encouraging the patronage of locally produced food-items and also increasing the internally generated revenue of the country. For instance, The ban placed on the importation on rice in Nigeria recently has increased the purchase of local rice across the country.

Furthermore, it will boost the agricultural sector of the economy and perhaps enhance the productivity of smallholders.

In as much as limiting the importation of good has benefits, the drawbacks are not far-fetched.

It might lead to the high-pricing of the agricultural products. In this case, the ban on the importation of rice in Nigeria increased the price of home-produced rice from #16,000 to #23,000. This will most likely have an effect on the common man that feeds from hand to mouth because he might not be able to afford it.

In addition, it could also lead to consumption of less-healthy food because the food produced might not be up to international standard.

Overall, Counties restricting importation of agricultural products and producing their food might have positive impacts on the economy as a whole and could increase the efficiency of farmers. In spite of the benefits, it could cause an increase in the cost of food items and lead to the consumption of contaminated products.