Adults today do not do enough exercise. Some people believe that showing major sports events like the Olympics or the World Cup on television encourages people to exercise. Others argue that there are better ways to encourage adults to move more.

Discuss both views and give your opinion.

With the advancement in technology, the fundamentals and dynamics of lifestyle have been altered significantly. In a recent phenomenon, the increasing tendency has been observed in people spending more time in-house by using gadgets. This, in result, has started a heated debate between people having a diversion in opinions based on the preferential method of promoting physical exercise among matures. A school of thought thinks that mature people can be motivated more by telecasting more sports events, while other refutes this and thinks otherwise. In my opinion, there are more realistic solutions available regarding this issue.

The proponents of telecasting sports events say that the reach of these events, along with athletes following, is unmatchable. The events like Olympics and Football World Cup have been telecasted around 180+ countries in the world. Due to this, these events enjoy a massive reach. Additionally, the athletes and soccer players participate in these events also have following in millions. Mature people idealise their athletes, and they try to imitate them in every possible manner. Hence, by showing them consistently on TVs encourage people to imitate their favourite players. For instance, last year’s world heavyweight champion, Salman Ahmed, has started training after watching Virat Kohli fitness during the matches. However, the actual number of people who adopt exercise by watching these events are insignificant.

The opponents of telecasting mega-events think there are many better ways to promote exercise in adults. Firstly, mature people should be provided with work-out breaks during office hours. The adults spend almost 12 hours in offices, including office commute. This, in result, leaves them with no time for exercise. Hence, they can be encouraged to focus on physical fitness by giving them work-out breaks during their office hours. Secondly, instead of watching sports, people should be encouraged to take part in physical sports, which can increase their fitness massively. The physical sports events should be organised by companies so that they participate in sports. For instance, a recent study by Harward University shows that companies with departmental sports teams have fitter employees as compare to companies who do not have departmental sports teams.

To conclude, the evidence discussed above provides strong support that despite having a viewership of events and athletes in billion, the actual turn-around of people to engage in physical activities is significantly low. On the other hand, providing exercise facilities and work-out breaks at the workplace are more adaptable solutions.