Some people believe that there should be fixed punishments for each type of crime. Others, however, argue that the circumstances of an individual crime, and the motivation for committing it, should always be taken into account when deciding on the punishment.

The legal system has always been a topic of debate among different groups. While some believe that there should be a predefined punishment for every kind of crime, I side with those who think that the reason for a crime must be considered while deciding the destiny of a miscreant.

On the one hand, they argue that a fixed sentence will make the legal system more efficient. The concurrent jurisdiction system of almost every other country has been blamed due to its slow decisions. It can be argued that by setting standardised punishments will help the authorities to make quick decisions. Resultantly, this increased pace will help the Judges to clear all the pending cases at a rapid pace. Pakistan law system, for example, has a ton of pending cases from the last five years due to which injustice in the country is observable.

On the other hand, in my opinion, the situation in which the crime commits must be account-for while making a final judgement. Firstly, not every offence is intentional. The criminal history is full of examples in which an unlawful act merely happened due to negligence by a person. Similarly, in my view, most of the juvenile delinquencies often occur when criminals use children for their purposes. Hence, in these situations, punishing juveniles with other habitual criminals would be unjustice with them. Resultantly, in future, the probability of making them a civilised member of a society will be reduced significantly.

To conclude, although predetermined punishments can help to reduce the backlog of the pending cases, punishing unintentional crimes with deliberate crimes would prevail injustice in the society. Therefore, on balance, I think while deciding sentences, the motives behind committing crimes must be taken under consideration.