The advantages and disadvantages of the Internet.

The internet is a big global information system. The term ''internet'' first came into use in 1974. Nowadays, it is popular everywhere in the world. However, like every single innovation in science and technology, it has its own advantages and disadvantages.

Firstly, information is probably the biggest advantage that internet offers. We can share information with other people around the world through the internet and stay up date with the latest news. There are many search engines on the internet such as google.com, yahoo.com, search.com, etc. Secondly, the internet can let a person connect to many people all over the world. It is easier to get in touch with your friends or make friends with foreigners by chatting, email messages, forum and so on. Thirdly, we can use many services on the internet such as online banking, job seeking, purchasing movie tickets, and hotel reservations. Especially, we can see movies, listen to music or play games on the internet. Besides, online education is also popular. Many websites provide lectures, books and documents on different subjects or topics. There are many education websites in Viet Nam such as hocmai.com, hoc247.net, Online Math, etc.

On the other hand, the internet also has many disadvantages. It is harmful to our health because some people spend too much time on searching and playing games on the internet, so that it is not good for their brains, eyes and spines. It also prevents them from reading books or going out with their friends. In addition, some programmes on the internet contain some bad content which are not good for young people's mental life. The next disadvantage is the wastage of time. Sometimes we spend too much time on listening to music, watching films, chatting, online shopping or checking emails so that we do not get time to rest. Another disadvantage is the virus. These viruses create different problems in our computers, they can attack our privacy and get some or all of information about us. Besides, online game addiction is a big disadvantage of the internet. Violence, fight and shooting games are very popular on the internet, so that some young people which are addictive to these games may become killers and crimes. It is so dangerous.

In conclusion, the internet is really useful and neccessary and it is also dangerous for our life so that we should balance between study or work and play and know how to use the internet well.