You should spend about 40 minutes on this task.

Many foods are shipped from far away. Some people think that eating local food is more environmentally and economically. Do you think the advantages outweigh its disadvantages?

You should write at least 250 words.

In today's globalised world foods are exchanged by various countries in trade to cater the people's urge of trying foods from other parts of world. Some people argue that this import affects the local food market in numerous ways. This essay will discuss how the advantages of eating locally sourced food outweighs the disadvantages.

Firstly, the eatables available in local market are available at cheaper prices compared to the shipped ones because there taxes applicable are comparatively low. Government and markets tend to sell the outside food at higher rates and also hefty taxes are applied to cover the import expenses and profits. The purchase of local foods boosts the local economy but people receive excellent quality and fresh products within reasonable prices. Also, preservatives are added to shipped foods and this hinders their quality and also a good amount of them might become stale until they reach their destination resulting in economical loss. The benefits of local foods are not limited to economy but the also provide an edge environmentally. The native crops and plants are cultivated in an environment which is suitable for them making their quality even better and preserving them for long time. The increase in demand of native food automatically increases the production, promoting agriculture and keeping the land fertile and environment clean. Also, curbing outside food prevents the infiltration preventing the threat to native foods.

However, preventing outside foods might limit the people's knowledge and they won't be aware about other products which might prove beneficial for them. The reduction in purchase of outside foods will result in slow trade leading to trade imbalance between countries. Certain outsider plants proving to be beneficial for locals diet might lose the potential of not becoming available in markets if not recognized.

To conclude, advantages of sourcing native foods exceed the disadvantages. However, a proper balance should be maintained on importing foods by deciding on foods which can actually cater the needs of people while boosting the local production and economy as well.