The advantages brought by the spread of english as a “global language” will continue to outweight the disadvantages. Do you agree or disagree?

It is commonly suggested that the prevalence of English used is a favorable phenomenon that has a plethora of benefits than downsides. While it is true to some extent, I strongly believe that its drawbacks can outweigh its positive sides.

English is indeed the most widely spoken language across the globe. One key benefit is that English is the primary mode of communication for a majority of purposes. This can lead to facilitating international communication and people can access others' cultural identities as well as trading related to economic aspects. For instance, the interaction between multinational companies should use English to convey comprehensively the flow of information which can bridge the communication gap among countries, uniting individuals from various cultural backgrounds. In addition, with the advent of globalization in recent years, people are recruited to participate in large multinational corporations based on their English understanding ability. Therefore, English is gradually becoming a crucial criterion to evaluate employees about level of English ability.

Nevertheless, the universality of English has overshadowed several native languages. It is undeniable that language also plays an important role as a foundation of culture which means losing a language as well as being on verge of extinction of culture. In addition, language holds significant historical values which help the younger generation to connect with their ancestors. For instance, ancient documents cannot be extracted as they are written by forgotten words, thereby humans cannot assimilate the messages of precious people who were speaking these minority languages.

In conclusion, the benefits of the English language can far exceed the negatives, and English will soon be widely used over the world, reducing communication barriers. However, I think that it can generate increasingly downsides.