The advantages of the spread of English as a global language will continue to outweigh its disadvantages. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In today’s world, it is widely perceived that English is used as a global language more than ever before and may continue to outweigh its disadvantages. Personally, I wholeheartedly agree with this position.

There are innumerable reasons why people might disapprove of its merits, one of which is losing a unique culture and also a own perception of the individual country. Furthermore, not only does the language embody an indirect way of showing the outside world the amazing ongoing society exists but it also plays a crucial part in the indigenous people’s lives. Therefore, the importance of the language belonging to a country is of inestimable value. For example, if Vietnam lost its own native tongue during countless wars in the past, it would not have survived until now. Another objection is that languages dying out make the world lose many rich and versatile lifelong countries. Since each has their own roles to fulfill the duties of decorating the traditional cultures life more exciting and amusing, the world culture becomes much more vibrant with their existences. Living without them is an unwanted desire, which would therefore create an unappreciated world not taking care of those languages, especially those endangered ones.

The merits of having English as a global language, however, are indisputable. First and foremost, it creates a world with no language barriers and no concerns to be worried about. Since everyone can have the same access to information and knowledge all around the world, there will be no shortages of meeting the requirements in developing a better cross-cultural community. For example, students in other countries can easily study abroad in English countries when the language is used the most in the daily lives. It should also be noted that using English as a global language may gain more benefits for the society.Due to speaking the same language, it may give more countries more affection toward each other by easily discussing a topic with no misunderstood. This would therefore tighten the relationship and lower the chance of opening a cold war for them.

In sum, for the reasons mentioned above, I would contend that I do agree the advantages of spreading English as a global language do eclipse the disadvantages.