Many countries now have people from different culture and ethnic group. What is the reason for this? Is it a positive or negative development?

Presently, more and more multicultural societies appear, consisting of people with different traditional backgrounds and mother tongues. There are many reasons why people emigrate from one country to another, and I am on the opinion of this phenomenon is a positive development.

To begin with, it is undoubtedly true that there are two key reasons why immigration happens. From a historical perspective, due to many invasions, unless people leave their origins, they will not be given a chance to have a better living standard. For instance, because of the wars in Vietnam lasted for merely a century, many Vietnamese people were forced to leave their country to survive as well as make a living. Moreover, with the proliferation of globalization, students opt to study abroad in developed countries for a more comprehensive education program taught by well-known professors with years of experience.

Nevertheless, this demographic trend brings many merits to racially diverse countries. First and foremost, the abundant labor force which consists of immigrants such as engineers, scholars and other highly skilled professionals would make the labor market much more competitive. From a personal point of view, this would encourage each person to devote more time to study and research, which acts as a stimulus to illuminate their minds and thinking as well as broaden their horizons. The more comprehensive knowledge a person acquires, the more valuable his work can contribute on the societal level, therefore enhancing the country’s socioeconomic development. Moreover, this trend promotes different traditional cultures, gives people a chance to know more about myths, rituals, traditional activities and the historical heritage of other deeply-rooted customs, acting as a precursor for cultural integration.

In conclusion, it might seem sensible for me that many reasons can be accounted for why many nations include multiple cultures. Meanwhile, I strongly believe that this situation affects development in a positive way since this is the opportunity to stimulate economic growth and comprehensive personal development ultimately as a whole.