Advertisements are influencing us in a negative way. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Advertising is a tool which is used by organizations to promote their products in the market, and now it becomes a part of our lives. Some people believe that advertisements have a negative impact on consumers where others argue it helps to identify the best product. I strongly agree with the statement that advertisements have a negative influence on people.

Firstly, the main purpose of the advertisement is to convince the target population to buy the products by mentioning the features or specifications of it. However, nowadays advertisements are used to create unnecessary needs. For example, advertisements create a mindset of housewives that having a vegetable chopper helps them to reduce cooking time. Though, there is no much time difference in cutting vegetable using chopper and knife.

Secondly, low-quality products can be promoted as good products by advertisements. When companies use big cinema stars and models in their advertisements, people tend to buy those products as they see them as role models. For instance, when actress Asin plays the fair and lovely advertisement, many young girls buy it because of the expectation to become like Asin. However, a lot of women are using it for ages and no changes they have experienced.

In addition to the above, it creates a negative impact on younger generations. For example, fairness cream advertisements create an impact on youngsters that being fair is the only way to look beautiful, and it induces them to bully darker skin people.

The above essay discussed the reasons how advertisements can negatively impact people. Creating unnecessary needs, promoting low-quality products and change the attitude of youngsters are the main impacts of bad advertising. To conclude, I strongly agree that advertisements are influencing people in a negative way.