Air traffic is increasingly leading to more noise, pollution, and airport constuction. One reason for this is the growth in low-cost passenger flights, often to holiday destinations.

Some people say that government should try to reduce air traffic by taxing it more heavily.

Do you agree or disagree?

International travel has become the latest trend in this era among youngsters as well as adults. This trend requires building up of new airports and growth in low cost passenger flights which are more often destined towards places receiving high tourists’ inflow. However, I totally disagree with the view that the government should try to reduce air traffic by taxing it heavily.

Beyond any qualms there are number of logical reasons to support the growth of travel industry and the trend of going for international holidays. Travelling to holiday destinations has become quintessential pass time for most middle class families. For example, in today’s lifestyle when mostly both the members of most families are working in mostly corporate jobs, there is little quality time they spend with each other so by the end of the week most of the couples or families prefer to catch a flight for relaxing on a beach or climb up some trek and spend some quality time together. I don’t think that there is anything wrong with this trend as long as this is beneficial for both the customer and service provider. Tourism industry brings huge revenues for any state or a country. While when we talk about noise and pollution caused by construction of airports than it is not fair to implement tax of airport authorities for this issue rather the tax should be imposed on manufacturing and trading of low cost airlines that are responsible for causing air pollution and noise pollution.

While some may argue that construction of more airports and rapid growth of travel industry is likely to constitute for almost half of air pollution and noise pollution in future if the same trend continues for long. However, I believe that with the technological advancement it is not a big task for our aeronautical engineers to construct cost effective and less pollution causing aircrafts in future.

In conclusion, I believe that taxing the airlines industry is not a permanent solution to this problem as long as people need a break from their busy lifestyle and thus continue to travel more occasionally. Instead the solution is to bring more cost effective and less pollution causing aircrafts to prevent the root of this problem.