Air transport is increasingly used to export fruit and vegetables to countries

where they cannot be grown or are out of season.

Do the benefits of this trend outweigh the drawbacks?

With the growth in aviation, many countries now choose this mode of transport to export food such as fruit and vegetables to places where they are not in season or cannot be grown. I would argue that this has more positive than negative effects.

The first positive effect is that it helps local farmers in poorer countries. This is because they may because may be able to improve their income and standard of living when they can sell their produce to faraway foreign markets rather than only producing staple crops for local markets or their own consumption. This is not possible with exports by land or seas as items such as vegetables and fruit will perish before they reach their destination. In addition, it will benefit the people who are receiving the produce. People in the countries that receive the food have the opportunity to try a variety of vegetables and new exotic fruits that they would not otherwise be able to sample. Not only this, the costs will reduce for customers as the food can be bought in bulk by big supermarkets, thus keeping prices low.

However, a negative side to this development is the impact that this has on the environment. One of the biggest problems in the world today is global warming and transporting millions of tonnes of food every day by air will add significantly to this problem as just one flight releases large amounts of carbon dioxide and other gases into the environment.

On balance, therefore, I believe that the advantages of exporting fruits and vegetables by air outweigh the disadvantages. This trend should be encouraged so that countries around the world can continue to enjoy the benefits of development.