All children should study a foreign language, starting in the earliest grades. To what extent do you agree or disagree to this statement ?

It’s argued that since the youngest age people should be taught another language than their mother-tongue. This essay agrees that sooner the contact with another idiom better are the benefits. Firstly, this essay will discuss the necessity of speaking English and secondly, discuss how easier the process of learning when young is.

Speaking English nowadays is indispensable for living at a globalized world, and for some kind of jobs, being multilingual has become an essential requirement. Companies that are prepared for doing business at overseas market are more likely to increase rapidly and become stronger, consequently it is not unusual to them to require or favor candidates that has, not only solid knowledge at its area, but are also able to combine this with a good linguistic proficiency .

Many studies claim that, in general terms, the younger someone mind is, the easier it is to learn another language. Due its brain elasticity, the facility of changing its structure in response to environment, children have a much richer capacity of learning and developing new abilities and skills than adult have. Not only that, but also the fact that while children are still learning the mechanism of their own language and don´t use it as foundation to another one, adult tends to translate, to use the wrong structure or words that are correlated to their own language, hindering the development of a more natural fluency.

In conclusion, children should be taught another language since the earliest grade because it will help them when adult and this learning process will be easier and more effective in this way.