Today, it is very common to have people from two different generations mix in the same workplace. Are there more advantages or disadvantages to this situation? Give your own opinion and include relevant examples

In most of the societies, culture keeps on evolving according to the needs of its people. If one takes into account the workplace culture, it too has changed tremendously in recent years. Nowadays, a majority of companies have people of different generations working together under the same roof. Is it a positive or a negative trend is a topic of debate? In the following paragraphs, I will discuss both the sides and give my suggestions for the same.

The industries that have mixed age group folks working together feels, that it is overall beneficial move for the companies’ growth. For instance, in an educational sector like a school, there are different aged pupils employed. The younger ones have energy and are vibrant with new innovative ideas and the older ones have experience along with them. These two extremes working together can help any industry to prosper.

Furthermore, a workplace with various age groups may also have difference of ideas and opinions from the employees, depending on their exposure, that gives a better opportunity for the authority to balance out, make the right choice and find the best solution.

However, the only drawback is that the old employees might lack in technological knowledge as compare to the youth, which may lead to a conflict situation in future and can also create a sense of unworthiness among the older generation employees.

In my suggestion, the advantages outweights the disadvantages by far, so it is undoubtedly a right decision to have mixed age groups working together, that will lead to the betterment of everyone.