More people are spending their free time watching movies.

Why is this?

Is it a good thing or bad thing?

The invention of Television was one of the biggest discoveries of human mankind. It served as a platform for the people to quench their thirst of information and entertainment. In earlier days, movie viewing was considered a privilege, but in today's time, it is become a common trend among the locals, to passively engage themselves by watching movies in their free time.

Technological advancement and the easily availability of the internet on the phones, the laptops and the I-pads is to be blamed for this habit. Furthermore, for a country like India, people are crazy behind the Bollywood Movies and the stars, they pay big bucks to watch the movies in theatres and some others at their home comfort.

Additionally, there are huge promotions carried on for these movies on various platforms, like the news, the malls, on the social networking sites, etc., that creates a buzz among the people to go and watch the movie in theatres by paying hefty prices.

In my opinion, engaging in an activity like viewing a movie is a waste of time, because it serves no purpose other than entertainment. When a person watches a movie in his free time, he is missing out on the other important tasks of life. It is an unproductive activity, which does not lead to any suitable outcome. Some people prefer lazily lying down on the couches and see movies, rather than participate in an outdoor physical activity, that could benefit their health too.

To conclude, I would suggest, entertainment is necessary in one's life, but people should try to maintain a balance and minimize the usage of watching television or movies and try to do something fruitful.