Some people believe that the museums and historic sites should be open for free for children under 18. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Historical monuments and museums are an important aspect of our past heritage, they depict our rich culture. Nowadays, most of the youngsters are not aware of the history of their own country, the hardships that our freedom fighters have gone through or the living style or houses of the past. Many people are of the view that the government should make the entry free for children under the age of 18, for promoting these historical places. According to me, this would be an inappropriate measure, in the following paragraphs; I will try to justify my viewpoint.

There is no doubt, that the children should be made aware of their own country's history, this would generate a feeling of patriotism and empathy towards our ancestors. However, to educate the youth, the government cannot sacrifice on the revenue that these sites generate. In a developling country like India, if the government would stop charging entry fees for young kids visiting the Taj Mahal, how would they bear the cost and maintain it? There are many people who are involved in the day to day work related to these monuments, their salary and other expenses also have to be taken care of.

One of the solution to this problem, could be giving discounts to the students and thus promoting these historical sites. Additionally, the government should emphasize schools to conduct regular trips to these places, so the students learn the value of these monuments and also acknowledge the efforts of the past generation.

To conclude, making the children realize the significance of history, visiting these monuments and museums is necessary, but the government or the people in charge of these places should come up with better plans that will be beneficial for everyone.