Art is considered an essential part of all cultures throughout the world. However, these days fewer and fewer people appreciate art and turn their focus to science, technology and business. Why do you think that is? What could be done to encourage more people to take interest in the arts?

Art has been an integral part of society since the beginning of human civilization. It is argued that interest in the fields of art is on the decline in favor of other fields such as Science and Technology. While I believe there are a variety of factors influencing this trend, measures can be taken to make it popular again.

Interest in the fields of art such as painting, sculpture, music etc., has seen a decline over the years due to several factors. Firstly, We are looking at an era where life has been fast-paced, it is a little or no time available due to busy and tight schedules. Everyone is trying hard to get things done at a faster pace leading to lives with no time for appreciating works of art. Secondly, we live in a world where success is a measure for your status, there are extremely popular fields such as IT, scientific research, medicine that have a probability of getting higher success due to the abundance of opportunities. There is less motivation to get into the fields of art due to lesser opportunities and difficult path for establishing yourself. Finally, lack of, or minimal government funding also restricts popularity and spread of art as a fulfilling career. I believe, lack of an established path for a successful art career is the cause of its declining popularity.

There are several corrective measures that can be taken to improve and elevate spread of art and its related fields. The fields of art need to have a defined structure that conveys a well-established career path. Having a career path with ample opportunities will bring more people to join this stream. Education plays a vital role in making this as a career path, educating students about art and culture as a career option will bring these fields in focus. This will not only help some students in making it as a career option but it will help others to appreciate these factors of human society. Fundings from government and other organizations will certainly help in the upliftment of these fields. Furthermore, promoting fields of art as a medium or tool for relaxation in our busy schedules will help society to reduce its stress from the daily routine.

In conclusion, although art has always been part of our lives it has seen a decline over the years. However, I believe making it as a lucrative career will not only attract more eyes but it will revive dying interest in the fields of art.