Some people think that the government is wasting money on the arts and that this money could be better spent elsewhere. To what extent do you agree with this view?

It is argued that government should stop allocating money for arts and its related fields, instead they should budget these funds on other beneficial activities. I completely agree that finances should be allocated in a way that helps in upliftment of the overall society.

There are several reasons why I would argue against spending funds on fields of arts such as Architecture, Sculpture, Literature, Paintings, Music, Performing and Film etc. Firstly, Art is not benefitting everyday lives of the general population. Allocating funds to improve or sustain art activities will not help with the problems faced by a larger section of society. For example, Building and maintaining art museums, art exhibitions, theaters is expensive and has very low impact in the upliftment of the society. Secondly, Expenditure in the fields of arts can be considered fair if the parity gap between the rich and poor is less. Allowing all sections of society to claim benefits and leisure from introduction of art activities.

On the contrary, if the government improves budget allocation for other essential needs of the society such as public services, could bring a positive change in the lives of all members of society. Additional budget will help in improving day-to-day public services such as health, law, and order, fire protection etc. This additional funds can be utilized in better education of students with modern techniques. It can be utilized to build better roads and connectivity reducing transportation time and fuel. This change will help in pulling a greater number of people out of poverty.

In conclusion, I assert that removing expenditure on arts by government will help in the overall development of the society.