Art is considered an essential part of all cultures throughout the world. However, these days fewer and fewer people appreciate art and turn their focus to science, technology and business.

Why do you think that is?

What could be done to encourage more people to take interest in the arts?

Art in its various forms has played a major role in the growth of cultures across the world. Nowadays, we find that the school curriculum is more geared towards enabling students in the areas of science, technology and business whereas arts is not a very popular choice among students. To make arts more appealing to students, it is recommended that schools include mandatory arts classes in primary school and then can be an elective subject in high school.

Students nowadays prefer taking courses on science, technology and business rather than arts. These streams have the best prospects in the current job market whereas artists like painters, dancers or theatre persons are expected to have a lot of struggles ahead of them before they can hope to become successful and well known. For instance, based on current market trends, a Masters graduate in Computers is expected to take home a start salary upward of $120K whereas an Arts graduate may have to struggle for years before they become established and can earn a steady income. Hence, students prefer to take the route to earn a guaranteed and steady source of income when they graduate by picking science, technology or business streams.

One way to make sure that students at least have exposure to arts so that they make an informed choice on what stream they want to choose, is to make arts a mandatory subject in at least primary school. That way students get a chance to try out painting, theatre or dance and will know if they have the talent to excel in those areas so that they can continue down that path if they chose to. To illustrate, based on a recent study, Communities where schools have experimented making arts mandatory are seeing more students opting to pursue Arts streams in high school and college. Therefore, exposing students to arts at a very young age can help them gain interest and possibly even pursue a career in arts.

To conclude, every culture has made their own contribution in the various forms of arts. While science, technology and business have been more popular with people, it is also important to promote the various art forms. This essay argued that not having enough exposure to arts at a young age is one of the resources for the lack of interest in arts among the general public. This essay also suggested that making arts mandatory in at least primary schools should help evoke some interest among students and some of them could also go on to make successful careers in the various arts fields.