Prevention of health problems and illness is more important than treatment and medicine. Government funding should reflect this.

To what extent do you agree?

Many people around the world believe that prevention is better than cure. Some people argue that the government should allocate more funding towards the prevention of health problems and illness as compared to treatment and medicine. While taking appropriate measures to curb the spread of diseases through prevention is highly recommended, I strongly feel that it is more important to ensure that the majority of the health funding goes into ensuring there are better treatment facilities and adequate medicines available.

The government should take appropriate steps to spread awareness on the preventive steps that people can take to keep them free from many diseases. Taking steps to prevent health issues means that people can lead a much happier, healthier and cheaper lifestyle and not burden the health system especially during times of pandemic. For example, ensuring that you maintain a balanced diet and have a regular exercise routine will keep you free from a lot of the common diseases. Thus, preventive measures shouldn’t be neglected and is very much important in leading a healthy life.

The Government needs to spend money on medicine and treatment because taking preventive measures alone might not be sufficient to control the spread of disease. The Government may spend a lot of money on awareness campaigns but if the citizens simply don’t want to take appropriate precaution or are just not disciplined enough, we would need to ensure there are effective treatment plans and medicine available to cure the patients and there is adequate funding to support the treatment facilities. A good example would be the current Corona virus pandemic. Despite the best efforts from the govt in broadcasting the signifance of social distancing and hygiene measures as effective preventive steps to contain the spread of the virus, we still find people not following the advice and the number of cases continue to soar

To conclude, taking necessary preventive steps is important in ensuring there people don’t get health problems that easily. Treatment and medicine is essential in controlling the severity of the disease. In my opinion, the advantages of spending on treatment and medicine outweigh the spending on prevention and hence the government should invest more on preventive measures.