Artists need a certain amount of freedom to develop their creativity. Some people think that artists should have total freedom to express any thoughts and ideas.

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

There is an issue about abolishment of restrictions on art workers. Some defenders believe that this suggestion would have a positive effect on their creative skills. This essay disagrees with their point of view.

Let us start with the reasons why some art supporters state that artists should be entitled the right to manifest themselves freely. The first reason is that their pieces of work usually reflect the state of society. The government may find it arduous to understand the processes flowing in society, but with the help of, for example, novelists, they can easily determine them. Another reason is that they sometimes set new trends. Artists may create a new way of thinking, which can cause a positive effect on common lifestyle and help people change their minds. Furthermore, they frequently enrich human existence. For example, cartoons may make either gloomy people smile or boost the imagination of children.

However, some social workers say that there should be some restriction on masters of art. They justify their opinion by the following arguments. Firstly, they occasionally show immoral things in public places. In the street, passers-by may get shocked and outraged by the exposure of unacceptable art-house, such as the exhibition of naked bodies by extravagant artists. Secondly, art workers can mislead the public by untrue pieces of art. They may convince society that their lives are under thread by showing, for instance, in their pictures the images of either a terrorist attack or the explosion of atomic bombs. Moreover, their self-expression may negatively affect immature minds. Many children may suffer psychologically from bizzare images in the mind, when they see either a sculpture without hands or a painting of a skull pile in the desert.

In conclusion, although some art followers suggest giving artists entire liberty in composition, I think that their work should be authorized by a commission before exposition.